CITAMS’ Five Annual Awards:

William F. Ogburn Career Achievement Award Recipients

Paper Award Recipients

Student Paper Award Recipients

Book Award Recipients

Public Sociology Award Recipients

2018 CITAMS Awards

William F. Ogburn Career Achievement Award
W. Russell Neuman, Professor of Media Technology, NYU & Professor (Emeritus), Communication Studies, University of Michigan
Best Article Award
Winner: Christopher A. Bail, Taylor W. Brown, and Marcus Mann. 2017. “Channeling Hearts and Minds: Advocacy Organizations, Cognitive-Emotional Currents, and Public Conversation.” American Sociological Review 82(6):1188-1213.
Best Student Paper Award
Co-winner: Scott W. Duxbury, Laura C. Frizzell, Sadé L. Lindsay, Ohio State University, Mental Illness, the Media, and the Moral Politics of Mass Violence: The Role of Race in Mass Shootings Coverage
Co-winner: Ethel L. Mickey, Northeastern University, Doing Gender, Doing Networks: Exploring Individual Networking Strategies in High-Tech
Best Book Award
Winner: Christo Sims, University of California, San Diego, Disruptive Fixation: School Reform and the Pitfalls of Techno-Idealism (Princeton, 2018)
Public Sociology Award
Winner: Professor Jeffrey C. Goldfarb, The New School for Social Research


2017 CITAMS William F. Ogburn Career Achievement Award
Winners: Gary T. Marx, MIT (Emeritus),  Senior Career Award;  Jennifer Earl, Professor, The University of Arizona, Mid-Career Award
2017 CITAMS Public Sociology Award 
Winner: Michael Stern, NORC
2017 CITAMS Book Awards
Daipha, Phaedra. (2015). Masters of Uncertainty: Weather Forecasters and the Quest for Ground Truth. University of Chicago Press.
Zayani, Mohamed. (2015). Networked Publics & Digital Contention. Oxford University Press.
2017 CITAMS Best Paper Award
Winner:  Eran Shor, Arnout van de Rijt, Alex Miltsov, Vivek Kulkarni and Steven Skiena. 2015. “A Paper Ceiling: Explaining the Persistent Underrepresentation of Womrinted News.” American Sociological Review 80(5):960-84. doi: doi:10.1177/0003122415596999.
2017 CITAMS Paper Award Honorable mention (listed alphabetically):
William H. Dutton, Grant Blank. 2015. “Cultural Stratification on the Internet: Five Clusters of Values and Beliefs among Users in Britain,” pp.3 – 28, in Laura Robinson, Shelia R. Cotten, Jeremy Schulz, Timothy M. Hale, Apryl Williams (Eds.) Communication and Information Technologies Annual (Studies in Media and Communications, Volume 10) Emerald Group Publishing Limited.
Justin Farrell. 2016. “Corporate Funding and Ideological Polarization about Climate Change.” Proceedings of the National Academy of Science. 113 (1) 92-97.
Sarah Gaby and Neal Caren. 2016. “The Rise of Inequality: How Social Movements Shape Discursive Fields.” Mobilization: An International Quarterly: December 2016, Vol. 21, No. 4, pp. 413-429.
Ya-Wen Lei, “Freeing the Press: How Field Environment Explains Critical News Reporting in China,” American Journal of Sociology 122, no. 1 (July 2016): 1-48.
2017 CITAMS Best Student Paper
Winner: Arvind Karunakaran, PhD Candidate, MIT, “In Cloud We Trust? Normalization of Uncertainties in Online Platform Services.” (currently under peer review).
CITAMS Awards Committees for 2017
William F. Ogburn Career Achievement Award
2017 Selection Committee: Andrea Tapia (chair), Sheila Cotten, Wenhong Chen,  Deana Rohlinger
Book Award
2017 Selection Committee: Wenhong Chen (chair), Heather A. Haveman, Janet Vertesi,
Paper Award
2017 Selection Committee: Deana Rohlinger (chair), Ion Bogdan Vasi,
Student Paper Award
2017 Selection Committee: Jessie Daniels (chair), Matt Rafalow, Grant Blank
Public Sociology Award
2017 Selection Committee: Hiroshi Ono (chair),  Eszter Hargittai, Apryl Williams


2016 CITAMS William F. Ogburn Career Achievement Award
Winners:  Shelia R. Cotten, Michigan State University (Senior Career), Wenhong Chen, University of Texas at Austin (Mid Career)
2016 CITAMS Public Sociology Award 
Winner: Eszter Hargittai, Northwestern University
2016 CITAMS Book Award
Winner: Heather A. Haveman  (2015). Magazines and the Making of America: Modernization, Community, and Print Culture, 1741-1860. Princeton University Press ; Janet Vertesi (2015). Seeing Like a Rover: How Robots, Teams, and Images Craft Knowledge of Mars. University of Chicago Press.
2016 CITAMS Best Paper Award
Winners: Ion Bogdan Vasi, Edward T. Walker, John Johnson and Hui Fen Tan. 2015. “‘No Fracking Way!’ Documentary Film, Discursive Opportunity, and Local Opposition against Hydraulic Fracturing in the United States, 2010 to 2013.” American Sociological Review 80(5): 934-959.
Honorable Mention: Sarah K Cowan, (2014) “Secrets and Misperceptions: The Creation of Self-Fulfilling Illusions” Sociological Science 1: 466-492.
2016 CITAMS Best Student Paper
Winner: Matt Rafalow, “Disciplining Play: Digital Youth Culture as Capital at School


2015 CITASA William F. Ogburn Career Achievement Award
Winner: Grant Blank, Oxford Internet Institute  
2015 CITASA Book Award
Winner: Crawford, Susan. 2013. Captive Audience:  The Telecom Industry and Monopoly Power in the New Gilded Age. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press. 
2015 CITASA Paper Award
Winner: Hampton, Goulet, & Albanesius. In Press. “Change in the Social Life of Urban Public Spaces: The Rise of Mobile Phones and Women, and the Decline of Aloneness Over Thirty Years.” Urban Studies.
2015 CITASA Paper Award Honorable Mention
Chen, Wenhong. 2013. “The Implications of Social Capital for the Digital Divides in America.” The Information Society 29(1): 13-25.
Davis, Jenny L. 2014. “Triangulating the Self: Identity Processes in a Connected Era.” Symbolic Interaction 37(4): 500-523.
Lewis, Kevin. 2013. “The Limits of Racial Prejudice.” Proceedings of the National Academy of Science (PNAS) 110, 47 (November), 18814–19.

2015 Stellar Seven

2015 CITASA Student Paper Award
Winner: Christine Larson (Department of Communication, Stanford University) for “Live publishing: the onstage redeployment of journalistic authority” Media, Culture, & Society.
2015 CITASA Student Paper Award
Honorable Mention: Didem Turkoglu (Department of Sociology, UNC Chapel Hill) for “Discussing Politics on Facebook: Club Model and Rowdy Deliberative Talk”
2015 Public Sociology Award
Jessie Daniels, Hunter College, CUNY

2015 Stellar Seven

2014 CITASA Awards

CITASA William F. Ogburn Career Achievement Award Winner 2014
William Dutton, Oxford Internet Institute
Selection Committee: Judy Wajcman; Hiroshi Ono, Chair: Sheila Cotten

CITASA Paper Award Winner 2014
Christopher Bail. 2012. “The Fringe Effect: Civil Society Organizations and the Evolution of Media Discourse about Islam since the September 11th Attacks” American Sociological Review, 77(6):855-879.
Honorable Mention Co-winners:
Celeste Campos-Castillo and Steven Hitlin. 2013. “Copresence: Revisiting a Building Block for Social Interaction Theories” Sociological Theory 31:168-192.
Laura Robinson. 2012. “Information-Seeking 2.0. The Effects of Informational Advantage” RESET 1(1).
Selection Committee: Shelley Boulianne; Jenny Davis, Chair: Katrina Kimport

CITASA Student Paper Award Winner 2014
Angèle Christin. “Counting Clicks: Commensuration in Online Journalism in the United States and France”.
Honorable Mention Co-winners:
Caitlin Petre. “Managing Metrics: The Containment, Disclosure, and Sanctioning of Audience Data at the New York Times”.
Cassidy Puckett. “The Geek Instinct: Technological Competence and Cultural Alignment in Disadvantaged Contexts”.
Selection Committee: Jeffrey Lane; Grant Blank, Chair: Jennifer Earl

CITASA Book Award Winner 2014
Lee Rainie and Barry Wellman, Networked: The New Social Operating System
Selection Committee: Gina Neff; Yuri Takhteyev; Tim Hale, Chair: Laura Robinson

CITASA Award for Public Sociology Winner 2014
Zeynep Tufekci, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Selection Committee: Gustavo Mesch; PJ Rey, Chair: Keith Hampton