Public Sociology Award

2017 CITAMS Public Sociology Award 

Winner: Michael Stern, NORC

2017 CITAMS Call for Public Sociology Award Nominations

The CITAMS Award for Public Sociology recognizes a specific achievement in teaching; the development or the use of a communication, information, or media technology; or the dissemination of knowledge that advances public understanding or engagement with the sociology of communication, information technology, or media. All materials for this award are due March 1, 2017. Please send a short letter of nomination, along with a CV of the individual nominated (if available), to the committee chair Dr. Hiroshi Ono, at

Hiroshi Ono   (
Eszter Hargittai (
Apryl Williams –

Previous Award Winners

2016 Eszter Hargittai, Northwestern University

2015 Jessie Daniels, Hunter College and The Graduate Center, CUNY

2014 Zeynep Tufekci, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

2013 Shelia R. Cotten, University of Alabama, Birmingham

2012 Lisa Wade and Gwen Sharp for their work creating and maintaining the Sociological Images blog.

2011 Lee Rainie, Pew Research Center

2010 danah boyd, Microsoft Research and Berkman Center

2009 Peter Kollock, University of California at Los Angeles

2008 Michael Macy, Cornell University

2007 Keith Hampton, University of Pennsylvania

2006 Marc Smith, Microsoft Research

2005 Stephen P. Borgatti, Boston College

2004 Earl Babbie, Chapman University

2002 Robert Wood, Rutgers University

Prior to 2008 this award was for teaching or the design of a computer application.