CITAMS Student Paper

2017 CITAMS Best Student Paper

Winner: Arvind Karunakaran, PhD Candidate, MIT, “In Cloud We Trust? Normalization of Uncertainties in Online Platform Services.” (currently under peer review).

2017 CITAMS Call for Student Paper Award Nominations

Recognizes 1) a published or unpublished article/paper/book chapter contributing to sociology of communication, media, and/or information technology OR 2) the design or use of a communication, media or information technology that provides an exceptional contribution to the sociology of communications, media, and/or information technology. Regarding authorship, books, chapters, articles, papers and computing applications may have multiple authors. In the case of student-faculty collaborations, the student must be the lead or senior author. The award is open to students in other disciplines than sociology; authors need not have a degree in sociology or be in a sociology department to be considered for an award but award nominees must be current CITAMS to be considered for this award. Graduate students can request a free membership to CITAMS as long as they are current members of ASA. Submissions must be in English and written within the two calendar years prior to the award deadline for nominations. There are no limitations on length. Award winners will be invited to serve on future award committees.

All materials for this award must be received by March 1, 2017.

Send by email to all three committee members a nomination letter and the paper in PDF or word.

Jessie Daniels  (
Matt Rafalow (
Grant Blank (

Previous Award Winners

2016 Matt Rafalow, University of California-Irvine, “Disciplining Play: Digital Youth Culture as Capital at School”

2015 Christine Larson, Stanford University, “Live publishing: the onstage redeployment of journalistic authority”

2014 Angèle Christin, Princeton University, “Counting Clicks: Commensuration in Online Journalism in the United States and France”

2013 Jeffrey Lane, Princeton University, “Code Switching on the Digital Street”

2012 Ya-Wen Lei – “Institutional-social Embeddedness of the Public Sphere: Media, Law, Networks, and the Heterogeneous Development of the Public Sphere in China”

2011 Award- Dmitry Epstein, Cornell University, “Who’s Responsible for the Digital Divide? Public Perceptions and Policy Implications.” co-authored with Erik Nisbet and Tarleton Gillespie. The Information Society 27(2), 92-104. (2011)

2011 Honorable Mention – Michael Conover, Indiana University,”Political Polarization on Twitter.” Co-authored with Jacob Ratkiewicz, M. Francisco, Bruno Gonçalves, Sandro Flammini, and Fil Menczer. In the proceedings of ICWSM 2011.

2010 Lauren F. Sessions, University of Pennsylvania, “How offline gatherings affect online commiunities: When virtual community members meetup”

2009 Daniel A. Menchik and Xiaoli Tian, University of Chicago, “Putting Social Context into Text: The Semiotics of E-mail Interaction.” American Journal of Sociology 114(2): 332-370. (2008).

2008 Steven G. Hoffman, Northwestern University

2008 Alison Powell, Concordia University

2007 Lee Humphreys, University of Pennsylvania

2006 Sara Nephew, Princeton University

2005 Laura Robinson, UCLA (paper)

2005 Sean Zehnder, Northwestern University (software)

2004 Jeffrey Boase, University of Toronto

2003 Tracy Kennedy and Kristine Klement, University of Toronto

2002 Julian Dierkes, University of British Columbia

2001 Eszter Hargittai, (1999). “Weaving the Western Web: Explaining Differences in Internet Connectivity Among OECD Countries.” Telecommunications Policy, 23(10/11), 701-718.